• OTTO KUHLMANN OKW header_unternehmen

History

OTTO KUHLMANN Automotive System-Parts GmbH – a German industrial story with tradition since 1908.

  • 2012
    Future alignment
    New points are set in the direction “growing” and big investments have been effected to extend the portfolio by stamping and bending parts. The permanent search for further products, the continuous readiness for our customers and the will and capability of the employees of both companies Kuhlmann guarantee a successful future cooperation with us.
  • 2009
    Change of Management
    Since the death of Mr. Martin Kuhlmann in 2009, the fortunes of the company are successfully guided in the sense of the former owner by manager Mr. Volker Klöpping.
  • 2006
    Foundation of Otto Kuhlmann Langelsheim GmbH
    On January 30, 2006 Otto Kuhlmann Langelsheim OKL GmbH joined the entrepreneur family as affiliated company under the roof of Otto Kuhlmann GmbH & Co. KG. Besides supporting and clamping rings, a variety of wire bending parts for the automotive, electrical and furniture industry are produced by OKL GmbH.
  • 2002
    Change of trade name
    Within the scope of a company law change of trade name, Otto Kuhlmann Automotive System-Parts GmbH was founded on August 22,2002.
  • 1990
    Extension of production by single wire rings
    In the beginning of the nineties and the end of that decade, the production of single wire rings as strengthening parts for air spring industry and later an the production of clamping/crimping rings for suspension bags were started. The latter were initially used in springs for driver seats and then increasingly also for truck drivers’ cabs and in passenger car constructions.
  • 1984
    Change in generations
    Originally, the company was founded for the production of flat rolled cold strip qualities, but the production of single wire beads for the bicycle tyre industry was already running parallel to this. At the end of the Second World War, Mr. Martin Kuhlmann took over the management of the company in Sauerland, due to the early death of his father and company founder Mr. Otto Kuhlmann, and concentrated and consolidated successfully the trade of the middle-class company in the middle of the century.
  • 1980
    Cable beads for high-performance tyres
    The business with cable beads for high-speed tyres grew into a leading segment, whereas, by rising costs, the products for bicycle tyres moved more and more to countries with cut-price production. At this background, Otto Kuhlmann realized already in the eighties that new similar products had to be found to ensure existence for a long time.
  • 1970
    Extension of the production program
    The no longer competitive narrow rolling mill was sold in the beginning of the seventies and the company developed and invested into the growing business field “single wire beads” for the bicycle industry. At the same time, the
    program was extended by the production of steel wire cable beads as inlays for truck tyres and special tyres of different kinds (high-speed tyres, OTR tyres, passenger car tyres and so on). Exports to all countries of the earth were booming and the construction, production and sale of machinery was taken to the product portfolio as well.
  • 1917
    New production location
    lnitially producing at another near-by location, a new industrial facility was built already in 1917, which is still used to date. Over the years, this property was extended and steadily adapted to the modified requirements.
  • 1908
    Company foundation
    The successful history of Otto Kuhlmann GmbH & Co. KG started on April 12, 1908 by undersigning the founding treaty in the presence of the “Royal Notary” at Hamm.

• OTTO KUHLMANN OKW header_unternehmen

Geschichte

OTTO KUHLMANN  – eine deutsche Industriegeschichte mit Tradition.

  • 2012
    Zukunftsausrichtung
    Neue Weichen wurden in Richtung Wachstum gestellt und größere Investitionen getätigt, die die Palette um Stanzbiegeteile erweiterten. Die permanente Suche nach weiteren Produkten, die ständige Bereitschaft für unseren Kunden und der Wille und die Fähigkeit der Mitarbeiter der Häuser Kuhlmann werden auch in Zukunft Garant zur erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Haus sein.
  • 2009
    Geschäftsführungswechsel
    Seit dem Tode von Martin Kuhlmann im Jahre 2009 werden die Geschicke des Unternehmens durch den Geschäftsführer Volker Klöpping erfolgreich im Sinne der ehemaligen Eigentümer geleitet.
  • 2006
    Gründung der Otto Kuhlmann Langelsheim GmbH
    Am 30.01.2006 trat die Otto Kuhlmann Langelsheim OKL GmbH als Schwesterfirma der Unternehmensfamilie unter dem Dach der Otto Kuhlmann GmbH & Co. KG bei. Am Standort der OKL GmbH werden neben Spann- und Stützringen auch verschiedenste Drahtbiegeteile für die Auto-, Elektro- und Beschlagindustrie hergestellt.
  • 2002
    Umfirmierung
    Im Rahmen einer gesellschaftsrechtlichen Umfirmierung wurde am 22.08.2002 die Otto Kuhlmann Automotive System-Parts GmbH gegründet.
  • 1990
    Produktionserweiterung von Einzeldrahtringen
    Anfang der neunziger Jahre und Ende dieser Dekade wurde mit der Produktion von Einzeldrahtringen, als Verstärkungsteile für die Luftfederindustrie und später die Fertigung von Spann-/Klemmringen für Schlauchrollbälge begonnen. Letztere fanden zunächst in Federungen für Fahrersitze, dann aber auch zunehmend für LKW-Fahrerhäuser und im PKW-Fahrzeugbau Verwendung.
  • 1984
    Generationswechsel
    Ursprünglich wurde das Unternehmen zur Herstellung von flach gewalzten Kaltbandqualitäten gegründet, parallel lief jedoch auch bereits die Produktion von Einlegedrähten für die Fahrrad-Industrie. Nach dem Ende des zweiten Weltkrieges übernahm Herr Martin Kuhlmann, bedingt durch den frühen Tod seines Vaters und Unternehmensgründers Otto Kuhlmann, die Leitung des Werkes im Sauerland und konzentrierte und konsolidierte erfolgreich die Geschäfte des Mittelständlers in der Mitte des Jahrhunderts.
  • 1980
    Kabelkerne für Hochleistungsreifen
    Zur tragenden Säule entwickelte sich das Geschäft der Kabelkerne für Hochgeschwindigkeitsreifen, während die Produkte für Fahrradreifen aus Kostendruck immer mehr in Länder der Billigproduktion abwanderten. Vor diesem Hintergrund erkannte man bereits in den achtziger Jahren, dass neue ähnliche Produkte aufgenommen werden mussten, die die Existenz für lange Zeit sicherten.
  • 1970
    Erweiterung des Produktionsprogramms
    Das nicht mehr wettbewerbsfähige Schmalwalzwerk wurde Anfang der 70er Jahre verkauft und man entwickelte und investierte in das wachsende Geschäftsfeld Drahteinlegeteile für die Fahrradindustrie. Zeitgleich wurde das Produktionsprogramm um die Herstellung von Stahldraht-Kabelkernen als Einlagekerne für LKW-Reifen und Spezialreifen verschiedener Art (Hochgeschwindigkeitsreifen, OTR-Reifen, PKW-Reifen usw.) erweitert. Der Export in alle Länder der Erde boomte und die Konstruktion, Herstellung und der Verkauf von Maschinen wurde in das Produktportfolio aufgenommen.
  • 1917
    Neuer Produktionsstandort
    Produzierte man zu Beginn noch an einem anderen nahegelegenen Standort, entstand bereits im Jahr 1917 die bis heute genutzte Industrieimmobilie, die im Laufe der Zeit erweitert und ständig den veränderten Anforderungen angepasst wurde.
  • 1908
    Firmengründung
    Mit der Unterzeichnung des Gründungsvertrages vom 12. August 1908 vor dem „Königlichen Notar“ zu Hamm, begann die erfolgreiche Unternehmensgeschichte der Otto Kuhlmann GmbH & Co. KG.